Former world No.3 joins Kosmos Tennis replacing Albert Costa who has held the position since 2019.

Kosmos Tennis has announced that David Ferrer is to take over the reins as tournament director of the Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals.

The popular Spaniard, who reached a career-high ranking of world No.3 in 2013 and who has 27 ATP titles to his name is a long-time supporter of the Davis Cup. He represented his nation in the competition over the course of 16 years and played in 20 Davis Cup ties, lifting the trophy with Spain on three occasions – in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

"I'm very excited about joining the project", Ferrer said. "The Davis Cup is a unique competition. As a player, it is one of the tournaments that you always want to play because of what it means. You compete as a team, you play for your country, you spend a week with your team-mates and the crowd atmosphere is unbelievable".

David Ferrer during the 2011 Davis Cup Final

Albert Costa won the Davis Cup with Spain as a player in 2000, and then became the most successful captain to date, leading his nation to two titles – in 2009 and 20011, with Ferrer on the team on both occasions. He was appointed tournament director in 2019 to lead the introduction of the new format that brought the top teams together in one venue to contest the finals.

Sixteen teams will participate in this year's Finals Group Stage, to be held on 13–18 September in Bologna, Glasgow, Hamburg and Valencia. The top two teams from each venue will automatically qualify for the ‘Final 8’ in Malaga on 22-27 November.

"2022 is going to be another exciting challenge for us", Ferrer said. "Since 2019, Kosmos and ITF have been working with players, organisers, fans and sponsors to maximise the success of the new format, while maintaining the event’s unique qualities. Using my experience, my goal is to inspire new audiences for the competition both now and in the future".

Ferrer and Costa, members of the Spanish Davis Cup winning team in 2011

Ferrer and Costa, members of the Spanish Davis Cup winning team in 2011

The 16 countries participating in the Finals Group Stage are Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, France, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, USA.


Tickets for the Group Stage in Hamburg, Bologna and Valencia, as well as for the 'Final 8' in Malaga, are now on sale via the official website,