Watch the full draw ceremony here

The ITF and Kosmos Tennis have announced the draw for the 2019 Davis Cup Madrid Finals which was made this evening at La Real Casa de Correos in the host city of Madrid.


The Davis Cup Madrid Finals will take place on 18-24 November when 18 nations will compete for the first time in one city, over one week, in a bid to win the prestigious trophy and be crowned World Champions.


The 18 nations have been divided into six groups of three teams. The six group winners and two best second placed teams (based on sets, games and points won) will advance to the knockout phase of the competition.


Defending champions Croatia, the second seeds, have been drawn against the host nation, and five-time Davis Cup winners, Spain and Russia in Group B. The top seeds France will contest Group A against Serbia and Japan.


Confirmation of the groups in full:


Group A: France (1), Serbia, Japan

Group B: Croatia (2), Spain, Russia

Group C: Argentina (3), Germany, Chile

Group D: Belgium (4), Australia, Colombia

Group E: Great Britain (5), Kazakhstan, Netherlands

Group F: USA (6), Italy, Canada


David Haggerty, International Tennis Federation (ITF): “This draw marks another stage of the journey to the Davis Cup Finals where these 18 nations will give their all for their teammates, their country and their fans.  Now that the teams know their opponents the anticipation can really build to what will be a spectacular event in November.”  


Gerard Piqué, Founder and President of Kosmos, partner of the Davis Cup Madrid Finals: "We are extremely proud to see how, step by step, the Davis Cup Madrid Finals take shape and become, without a doubt, one of the great sporting events of the year. The draw we witnessed today has provided an exciting setting for the competition. The diversity and contrasting styles of the teams and the huge enthusiasm with which they will all arrive in Madrid is undoubtedly the best guarantee of the great performance that awaits us. Madrid will be the world capital of tennis and sport for a week, bringing together fans from 18 countries, offering them a unique experience that they will surely not forget".


The event was also attended by a group of dignitaries, led by the President of the Region of Madrid, Angel Garrido and Luis Cueto, General Coordinator of the Mayor.


Angel Garrido said: “It is an honour for Madrid to host this new format that will be attract tourists and we are ready to host them with success. In Madrid, we support these big events  as well as participation in sport at every level.”

Luis Cueto, also said: “This is the result of a lot of dreams and ambitions. Tennis is a sport of respect and people will always remember that the Davis Cup Finals began in Madrid. We want to share the culture of Madrid of coexistence, sustainability and respect to everyone. La Caja Magica will become even more magical.”

The draw for the quarter-finals was also made: 

Officials from the 18 countries that will meet at the Davis Cup Madrid Finals, including ambassadors, as well as numerous representatives of national and international media were in attendance.

The draw was broadcast to an international audience, through broadcasters and livestream, across many platforms and channels.