Find out who’s behind the teams in Glasgow


Captain: Mardy Fish
Mardy Fish made his Davis Cup debut as a player in 2002, playing in 11 ties before his last match in 2012, where he teamed up with Mike Bryan to defeat Roger Federer and Stan Wawrinka in the USA’s 5-0 victory over Switzerland. 

He reached a career-high ranking of doubles world no.14 in 2009 and world no.7 in singles in 2011, retiring as a player in 2015 with six ATP titles as well as an Olympic silver medal from Athens 2004. 

He took over the Davis Cup captaincy in 2019. 

Mardy Fish

Mardy Fish


Captain: Leon Smith
Leon Smith, unlike many other Davis Cup captains, is first and foremost a coach rather than a former player. He began coaching professionally at 18 and has held several senior coaching roles within British tennis and worked with players including Andy Murray. 

He was appointed as Davis Cup captain in July 2010, overseeing Britain’s victory in the competition five years later – the first Davis Cup title since 1936. 

Leon Smith


Captain: Yuriy Schukin
A former player who reached a career-high singles ranking of no.119 and doubles of no. 117, Yuriy Schukin made 13 Davis Cup appearances between 2008 and 2013, appearing in two World Group quarter-finals. 

He took over as Davis Cup captain in February 2020. 

Yuriy Schukin

Yuriy Schukin


Captain: Paul Haarhuis
Paul Haarhuis made his Davis Cup debut in 1990 and played every year until he retired in 2005, setting Dutch records for the most years played (16), most ties played (27), and most doubles wins (16).

He retired in 2003 having won one singles and 54 doubles titles, including all four Grand Slam men’s doubles titles with long-term partner compatriot Jacco Eltingh.

Paul Haarhuis

Paul Haarhuis