The International Tennis Federation Board of Directors has confirmed the process for replacing the Russian and Belarusian teams during the 2022 Davis Cup season. This follows the suspension of the Russian Tennis Federation (RTF) and Belarus Tennis Federation (BTF) from ITF membership and from participation in ITF international team competitions on 1 March 2022. 

As 2021 champions, the RTF team had also qualified automatically for the 2022 Davis Cup by Rakuten Finals. The ITF Board has confirmed that RTF’s position in the Finals will go to the highest-ranked losing semi-finalist in 2021, Serbia. As Serbia had been awarded a wild card for the 2022 Finals, the Davis Cup Finals Steering Committee will announce a replacement wild card nation (selected from the 12 losing nations from the 2022 Qualifiers, which were played on 4-5 March 2022) in due course.  

That wild card team will compete alongside 2021 finalists Croatia, 2021 semi-finalists Serbia, wild card Great Britain and the 12 nations which recorded victories in the 2022 Qualifiers (Argentina, Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Kazakhstan, Korea Republic, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and USA) at the 2022 Davis Cup Finals. The group stage of the Finals will take place across four cities in September before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final are hosted at a fifth city in November. These venues will be announced in due course.

Belarus were due to compete in the World Group I Play-offs on 4-5 March 2022. Their opponents, Mexico, received a walkover and will compete in World Group I in September. To ensure the correct number of teams will compete in both World Group I and World Group II in September, the highest-ranked losing nation from the World Group I Play-offs (Uzbekistan) will compete in World Group I; and the two highest-ranked losing nations from the World Group II Play-offs (China, P.R. and Thailand) will compete in World Group II.