Ten teams from World Group I will go through to the Davis Cup Qualifiers 2022, with eight spots now filled following an exciting weekend of tennis in Group 1.

2016 champions Argentina secured their chance to get back to the Finals with a 4-1 win over Belarus in Buenos Aires, but not before their No.1 Diego Schwartzman suffered a shock defeat to the unranked 18-year-old Daniil Ostapenkov. 

Both Japan and Belgium have been Davis Cup runners-up in the past. Three-time finalists Belgium had their work cut out against Bolivia, with Ruben Bemelmans and Zizou Bergs both losing their first singles matches before Sander Gille and Joran Vliegen got things back on track in the doubles. Japan put a disappointing performance in the 2020 Qualifiers behind them, and this weekend eased past Pakistan in Islamabad 4-0, dropping just one set in the whole tie. 

Netherlands and Brazil also made light work of their ties, with Paul Haarhuis’ men beating Uruguay 4-0 in Montevideo, and Brazil facing little trouble against Lebanon in their tie on the clay in Jounieh, despite a spirited performance by Hady Habib and Benjamin Hassan in the doubles.


The Netherlands' celebration

Three-time runners-up India missed out as Finland battled through a tie that saw World No.424 Otto Virtanen beat Prajnesh Gunneswaran, ranked more than 250 places above him. The experienced doubles pairing of Rohan Bopanna and Ramkumar Ramanathan narrowly lost out to Harri Heliovaara and Henri Kontinen in two tie-break sets. 

Tibor Toth’s Slovakia denied Chile a chance to compete in next year’s Qualifiers in a thrilling tie that included a decisive win for Slovakian World No.114 Norbert Gombos over No.17 ranked Cristian Garin. 

New Zealand’s Marcus Daniell and Michael Venus won their doubles match against Korea’s Jisung Nam and Minkyu Song, but it wasn’t enough to secure the tie and Seung-Kyu Park’s men booked their spot in next year’s Qualifiers. 

Peru, Romania, Ukraine and Norway are still to play and will battle it out for the final two places. Ties will be played in November and the ten teams will then join the 16 teams from the Finals 2019 (all except the finalists) in the Qualifiers draw 2022.

 All the results here


South-Korea will be for second time in the Qualifiers