• The seeds for the Davis Cup by Rakuten Madrid Finals draw on Thursday 12 March have been announced following the publication of the latest Davis Cup Nations Ranking. 
  • The draw for the Finals will be held at the ITF offices in London at 16:00 GMT and will be livestreamed on DavisCupFinals.com.

The full list of nations competing at the Finals was confirmed following the Davis Cup by Rakuten Qualifiers last week, with 12 nations winning Qualifier ties to join the four Davis Cup semifinalists from 2019 (Spain, Canada, Russia and Great Britain) and two wild cards (France and Serbia) in Madrid later this year. The Finals take place on 23-29 November 2020.
The 18 nations will be drawn into six groups of three teams. Spain, as 2019 champions, are seeded No. 1 and Canada, as 2019 runners-up, are seeded No. 2. The four other highest-ranked nations (France, Croatia, USA and Serbia) are seeded 3-6. The remaining nations are placed in either Pot 2 or Pot 3 in accordance with the Davis Cup Nations Ranking of Monday 9 March 2020.
Davis Cup Finals 2020 (current ranking in brackets)

Pot 1
1. Spain (3, champions 2019)
2. Canada (6, runners-up 2019)
3. France (1)
4. Croatia (2)
5. USA (5)
6. Serbia (7)

Pot 2
Germany (8)
Italy (9)
Great Britain (10)
Australia (11)
Kazakhstan (12)
Russia (13)

Pot 3
Sweden (14)
Austria (15)
Czech Republic (17)
Colombia (18)
Hungary (23)
Ecuador (24)

Nations in Pot 1 will be placed in position one in groups A-F (with the No. 1 seed in Group A, No. 2 seed in Group B, No. 3 seed in Group C, and so on). Nations in Pot 2 will be drawn randomly into position two in each group. Nations in Pot 3 will be drawn randomly into position three in each group.
The six group winners and the two best-performing group runners-up will advance to the quarterfinals. The draw for the knockout stages will also take place on 12 March.