Six teams have already booked their place at the Davis Cup by Rakuten Madrid Finals 2020. Spain, Canada, Russia, Great Britain, France and Serbia now await the other 12 nations that will emerge from the Qualifiers on March 6 and 7.

The new Davis Cup format launched in 2019 grants direct access to the Finals to six teams: the four semi-finalists from the previous edition and two wild cards chosen by the Davis Cup Steering Committee. Spain, Canada, Russia and Great Britain were semi-finalists in Madrid in 2019; France and Serbia have been chosen as guests. None of them will therefore participate in the Qualifiers.

Find out more about the teams:


The team led by Rafael Nadal were the 2019 Davis Cup winners. Although the first title for Spain didn’t come until the year 2000, over the last two decades they have won the prestigious Silver Salad Bowl on six occasions. Spain has a wide choice of players, with Roberto Bautista and Feliciano López being regular members alongside Nadal in recent years. David Ferrer, who retired in 2019, bowed out to praise and adoration from fans during the Finals in Madrid. The Spanish team is captained by Sergi Bruguera, twice winner at Roland-Garros, who won his first Davis Cup title as captain with the victory in Madrid.


Without a doubt, the surprise team of the last edition and one of those with the brightest future. The youth and enormous potential of Denis Shapovalov (20 years old) and Felix Auger-Aliassime (19 years old) join the relative veterans Vasek Pospisil and Milos Raonic to form a squad that can aspire to anything. Their captain is Frank Dancevic, only 35 years old himself and until recently a professional tennis player, with a best individual ranking of world number 65. In 2019, Canada reached the first final of the new format competition.

Great Britain

Captained for the past few years by Leon Smith, Great Britain had one of its greatest moments thanks to a team who in 2015, led by Andy Murray, achieved their tenth Davis Cup win almost 90 years(!) after their previous title. In the Davis Cup Madrid Finals 2019, they showed that the new format fits perfectly with their playing style, taking full advantage of both their individual and doubles options.


After several years in search of a new generation of players, Russia is experiencing a resurgence today thanks to the sensational tennis of Daniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov and Andrey Rublev, all among the 20 best players in the world. Despite Medvedev's absence due to injury in the 2019 Finals, Khachanov and Rublev came incredibly close to making the final, taking on all the individual and doubles matches between them. They are a team with players capable of beating any opponent and who everyone will want to avoid in this year's draw.


The team led by Sébastien Grosjean had a disappointing debut with the new format and failed to make it beyond the group stage, finishing behind Serbia who progressed to the quarter-finals. Davis Cup champions in 2017 and finalists in 2018, France has players including Gael Monfils, Lucas Pouille, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Benoit Paire, Richard Gasquet and the doubles specialists Nicolas Mahut and Pierre-Hugues Herbert to make, without doubt, one of the most complete teams on the international scene.


With Novak Djokovic as the team's undisputed number one and Nenad Zimonjic - former doubles world number one - as captain, Serbia hopes to have better luck in the Finals in 2020. In 2019, the team played in one of the most intense (and dramatic) duels, falling in the quarter-finals to Russia. The clash ended with a tie break in the third set of the decisive doubles match, with Serbia missing out on two match points. The team promises to return in 2020 with a clear determination to lift the trophy. Serbia’s only title dates back to 2010, with Djokovic and Zimonjic as teammates on that occasion.