Spain faces the tough challenge of defending its title in 2021. The first hurdle will be to make it through to the quarter-finals of the Davis Cup by Rakuten Madrid Finals in a Group A that will pit them against a strong Russian team and one of the debutants, Ecuador.

Group: A
Venue: Madrid
Tickets: Here

  • Spain won its sixth Davis Cup title in 2019 after being one of the dominant teams of the last two decades. The nation won its first Davis Cup trophy in 2000.
  • Rafael Nadal is the undisputed leader of the team. In 2019 he once again demonstrated his commitment, playing in the Finals not only in his singles matches but also the decisive doubles matches of the knockout rounds.
  • Roberto Bautista and Pablo Carreño are among the world top 25. The team can also count on the versatility of stalwart Feliciano Lopez. Promising new players, such as Alejandro Davidovich – 22 years old, and Carlos Alcaraz, just 18, are already in the top 100 and emerging on the horizon of the Spanish team.
  • Sergi Bruguera, Roland-Garros champion in 1993 and 1994, is team captain.
  • Spain, as defending champions, qualified directly for this year's Finals; a position also enjoyed by the other 2019 semi-finalists (Canada, Great Britain and RTF) and the two 2020 wild cards (France and Serbia).


© Paul Zimmer / ITF

Rafael Nadal

© Paul Zimmer / ITF

Roberto Bautista

© Paul Zimmer / ITF

Feliciano López and Marcel Granollers