The team

After reaching the quarters-finals, the Serbian team, captained by Nenad Zimonjic, with Novak Djokovic at number one, looked like serious contenders for the final of the Davis Cup Finals 2019. But despite battling every point, the might of the Russians was too great and a loss of three match points let Shamil Tarpischev’s team escape to move forward to the semi-finals.

It was a tough defeat to overcome, particularly as the team had to wait another day to find out that they had been awarded a wild card for 2020, thus directly securing their ticket to next year edition.

Did you know?

Serbia has possession of all the records held previously by the former Yugoslavia in Davis Cup. They competed alone for the first time in 2007 (they debuted in 1995 as Yugoslavia, a name they kept until 2003 and later as Serbia and Montenegro). In 2010 they won their first, and so far, only, title.

Captain: Victor Troicki

Viktor Troicki, winner of the 2010 Davis Cup for Serbia alongside Novak Djokovic, Nenad Zimonjic and Janko Tipsarevic, was appointed team captain at the end of 2020 for a period of four years. Troicki participated in the 2019 Finals as a player – partnering Djokovic in the painful quarter-final defeat against Russia - and became world number 12 in 2011.